Welcome to The “M” Word


Welcome to my first blog. I’ve been thinking about writing this blog for a while now, and since I’m in the process of writing a book about PR and the new media, I thought this would be a good time to start.

In my opinion, this is a very exciting time to be a  communicator. There are so many new outlets for self-expression in general and the written word in particular. In this blog, I will look at the many aspects of the press, public relations, and the media–the “M” word–in the digital age. I want to keep current with new developments, not only in technology but in the language that we use both to describe new technology and  to communicate in it.

Why do I call it “the M word” ?    

The word “Media” these days is so overused that it begins to be devoid of any meaning. It has been used to describe any number of types of communications and professions, and so much maligned, that it’s starting to take on an undertone of something ominous. The great media conspiracy.  To me,  “Media” is becoming  a new four-letter word. Five is the new Four?  So much so, that I can’t say the “M” word without wincing myself these days. 

In this Blog, I will write about all things “M”, from new technology to old school print. I come to you as a creative person, a writer and a public relations professional who has traveled in the changing terrain of communications for decades.

I aim to bring back the “M” word to its proper place, as the rightful means to communication in a country that, above all else, loves its freedom of self-expression.

I look forward to your comments and feedback.  Please note the many ways you can RSS feed this blog on the right hand sidebar.  Blog on!

One response to “Welcome to The “M” Word

  1. Mmm. Now that’s wholesome, bloggy goodness…

Leave a Reply

